IMG 1355

The Cedar Rapids Jefferson Academic Decathlon team won the Division II National Championship on Saturday, April 23rd. They were in fourth place coming into the event based on state scores. This is Jefferson’s first Academic Decathlon National Championship. Previous teams placed second in 2009 and 2019. The team has won 22 straight state championships. The team won the Super Quiz (a separate event where students all answer questions over each of the subjects) in Division II. This was also a first.

Adam Swartzendruber and Danika Burkett placed second in their respective divisions which earned them $750 scholarships. Dawson Posekany and Brianna Olson finished third in their divisions earning $500 scholarships. The team won 26 of the 90 individual awards (a new best). Adam Swartzendruber was the highest-scoring team member scoring 8,165.9 points out of 10,000 possible, earning him a $250 scholarship. Olivia Proctor was voted “most valuable team member” and won a $250 scholarship. Daniel Binhammer was the “most improved Varsity member from state to the national competition in his division, earning him a $250 scholarship. 

Team members included:
– Kaitlyn deBlois
– Dawson Posekany
– Adam Swartzendruber
– Zach Smith
– Olivia Proctor
– Danika Burkett
– Briana Olson
– Daniel Binhammer
– Nickolas Graham
– Wrigley Brody
– Coach: Kevin Darrow

Thank you to the entire Jefferson community for your support of these outstanding student scholars!